OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

Worker Protection Unit Task Force MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, January 23, 2020

The Worker Protection Unit Task Force met in public session on **Thursday, January 23, 2020**, in the Michael A. Bilandic Building, 160 N. LaSalle St., Room C-500, pursuant to notice.

Kwame Raoul, Attorney General called the meeting to order at 1:09 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present (10/10)

Chicago: Alvar Ayala, Office of the Illinois Attorney General

Robert Berlin, DuPage County State's Attorney (present via speakerphone)

Michael Brennan, Illinois Workers Compensation Commission

Kimberly Foxx, Cook County State's Attorney

John Greenwood, Office of the Illinois Attorney General

James Gomric, St. Clair County State's Attorney Brent Harzman, Illinois Department of Human Rights

Michael Kleinik, Illinois Department of Labor

Kwame Raoul, Illinois Attorney General

John Waters, Illinois Department of Employment Security

Introductory Remarks:

Attorney General Kwame Raoul calls the meeting to order at 1:09 p.m. A quorum is present.

The Attorney General gave opening remarks and recognized Robert Berlin as being present by speakerphone.

New Business:

• **Election of Chairperson**: Michael Kleinik moved to elect AG, Kwame Raoul as Chairperson of the Task Force. James Gomric seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following voice vote:

Yeas:

Alvar Ayala Robert Berlin Michael Brennan Kimberly Foxx John Greenwood James Gomric Brent Harzman Michael Kleinik John Waters

• Adoption of Rules: John Greenwood read the proposed rules to the Task Force. The Open Meetings Act governs the Rules. Michael Kleinik moved to adopt the rules, James Gomric seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following voice vote:

Yeas:

Alvar Ayala

Robert Berlin

Michael Brennan

Kimberly Foxx

John Greenwood

James Gomric

Brent Harzman

Michael Kleinik

Kwame Raoul

John Waters

The following gave presentations to the Task Force regarding worker protection issues, including wage theft, misclassification, prevailing wage, worker discrimination, and the fractured workplace.

Tim Drea, President, AFL-CIO

Mark Poulos, Executive Director, III FCC, Local 150

Alison Howlett Walters, Executive Director of Chicago District Council.

Martin Unzueta.

Fernando Corona (Translated by Lydia Colunga-Merchant, Deputy Bureau Chief, Workplace Rights Bureau)

Chris Williams, Director of Legal Advocacy Network

Daisy Corral, former staffing agency liaison, whistleblower

The Task Force took comments from the public.

Adjournment: Having no further business to discuss, Kwame Raoul moved to adjourn the meeting, the motion was seconded by Michael Kleinik and James Gomric. The motion carried by the following voice vote:

Yeas:

Alvar Ayala Robert Berlin Michael Brennan Kimberly Foxx John Greenwood James Gomric Brent Harzman Michael Kleinik Kwame Raoul John Waters

The meeting adjourned at 2:20 p.m. Next meeting date to be determined.